Gun Range Age Limit In Nevada
If you’re a tourist or local who is a gun enthusiast, visiting a gun range in Nevada is an exciting event that gets the adrenaline pumping just by thinking about it. It’s a great way for friends and family members to share an experience they’ve never had before or only had the opportunity to indulge in a few times in their lives. If you plan to visit a gun range with minors or are a minor yourself, you need to know gun range age limits in Nevada and the rules that different gun ranges enforce before going to the shooting range.
The Gun Store – Gun Range Age Limit
Here at The Gun Store, we believe that everyone should have the chance to experience the full lineup of weaponry in our inventory. However, we take safety very seriously and will not allow any guest under the age of 18 onto our range without being accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. If a minor has their parent/legal guardian present, then, the store manager will retain the right to determine if that minor is old enough and has enough experience to handle a firearm safely on our premises.
Our Gun Store management team and NRA-certified trainers want you to have an enjoyable experience when you visit. We go to great lengths to ensure that employees and customers are safe at all times, and compromising is not an option. The gun range age limit is in place to help ensure that everyone who uses our gun range understands the importance of gun safety, and is adequately prepared to handle a firearm. The Gun Store is a great place to learn how to shoot a gun, but it could be dangerous if strict safety rules were not in place.
Nevada State Law NRS 202.300
According to NRS 202.300, any minor that is 17 or younger is not allowed to store, handle, or possess a firearm for hunting or target practice in the State of Nevada unless accompanied by a parent, guardian, or an adult that has legal custody. If a minor violates this statute and there is no adult supervision, it is considered a delinquent act. A violation would trigger an order of detention for the child and a misdemeanor or felony for the adult.
Any adult who knowingly permits a minor to handle a gun without supervision will face a misdemeanor charge on the first offense. For the second offense, the penalty becomes more severe, and if the firearm is involved in a crime, that individual would be guilty of a category C felony. The minimum sentencing guidelines for this offense mandate 1-year in state prison, and depending on the nature of the crime could lead to a maximum sentence of 6-years.
Regardless of the shooting range Las Vegas age laws, any minor not accompanied by a parent, guardian, or authorized adult will be required to present a notarized letter stating who the legal guardian responsible is in their absence. You can obtain a notarized letter from any notary public in Nevada, and you can request one from certified individual notaries, local banks, credit unions, or online through an eNotary. For further information or if you have any questions, call (702) 454-1110, and we’ll be happy to assist you.
One area where gun laws are more strict in Nevada is concerning gun range age limits. To use a gun at a shooting range, you must be 18 years old. This age limit is in place to help ensure the safety of both gun users and those around them. If you are under 18 and interested in using a gun at a shooting range, there are options available to you. Many gun ranges offer private lessons with a certified instructor. These lessons can help you learn gun safety and proper gun handling techniques. You can also find gun ranges that offer supervised shooting times for those under 18. During these times, an experienced trainer will be on hand to help ensure the safety of all shooters.