FREE CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT COURSE INFORMATION
Our class is accepted as valid training for Nevada and Florida permits. Each of these states offer permits to both residents & non-residents.
The Gun Store presents the required class three times a week, every MONDAY, WEDNESDAY and SATURDAY. The class runs 9 hours, including a 30 minute lunch break. The class starts at 9 AM and ends at approximately 6 PM. The shorter C.F.P. renewal class starts simultaneously with the regular class but ends at approximately 2 PM. We ask that students arrive 15 minutes early to allow for parking and paperwork prior to the class beginning.REGISTER NOW
Nevada is a “Shall Issue” state meaning that if a person with a clean criminal history successfully completes the approved classroom training and appropriate firearms qualification, the Sheriff will issue a permit. Nevada Concealed Firearm Permits are valid for a period of five years from the date of issue and are issued to residents of any state. Permit renewal requires a shorter refresher class, a shooting re-qualification and application to the Sheriff for the renewal. Completed application and proof of class & qualification must be presented to the Sheriff in person.
As of July 1st, 2011 Nevada law states that you may qualify with one semi-automatic handgun and carry any semi-automatic. You can still qualify with one revolver which allows the carry of any revolver. All current CCW permit holders are grandfathered in to the new law and can add handguns accordingly.
PRE – QUALIFICATION
You may pre-qualify for the Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) Class. Pre-qualifications for the CFP may be conducted at The Gun Store between 9am and 11am 7 days a week. Qualifications must be done within 14 days of attending the class. You will be given qualification paperwork that you will bring to class and will be added to your overall application packet. This will also eliminate the need for you to bring your firearm with you to the class. If you cannot pre-qualify, you may qualify the day of or within 14 days of attending the class.
Both the full CCW class and renewal course are FREE. Students only need to pay for their qualification ammunition. *Permit applications for Florida are included at no cost if you wish to apply for this state concurrently.
Note: Please do not bring any ammunition with you. All ammunition used at The Gun Store should be lead free and frangible for the health and safety of our visitors and employees.
Ammunition for the qualification is charged at the following rate:
- 9MM, .380, .38 & .40 SW = $25 per qualification
- .45ACP = $30 per qualification
*Due to the current industry demand, we are not able to provide any .22 ammunition for any qualifications. We apologize for the inconvenience.
If your firearm is not one of the above calibers, we suggest you rent one of ours: revolver, semi-auto or both. Rentals are $10 per gun plus the appropriate ammo cost.
Please park your vehicle in one of the lots to the rear of the store in order to leave our front parking lot for the “in & out” customers.
LVMPD FEES AND PROCESSING
LVMPD charges $97.50 to process a permit application and fingerprint cards. The renewal fee is $62.50. Their processing may take up to 120 days. Your permit will be mailed to you.
The qualification course consists of 36 rounds fired on a B-27 full sized target.
- AT 3 YARDS: 6 rounds right hand only, reload, 6 rounds left hand only, 60 second time limit
- AT 7 YARDS: 12 rounds freestyle (two hands) (fire 6, reload, fire 6), 60 second time limit
- AT 15 YARDS: 12 rounds freestyle (two hands) (fire 6, reload, fire 6), 60 second time limit
70% (252 POINTS OF 360) IS THE PASSING SCORE. For firearms holding only 5 rounds, an equivalent 30 round course will be used. 70% (210 points of 300) is the passing score.